The Yuhzan Vong crisis unfolds–Star Wars: The New Jedi Order: Dark Tide I: Onslaught

I’m back continuing The New Jedi Order saga. I did say a while back about reviewing the new season of The Mandalorian but…I don’t know if my heart is in it anymore. I thought that it was going to be a journey of Din Djarin along with his little Force-sensitive buddy Groku (a lazy rip-off of Goku from Dragon Ball when you start to think about it) trying to reclaim his title of Mandalorian again. But after 3 to 4 episodes, it felt like the series was over for me and…I kind of don’t care. Everything teasing to a potential appearance of Grand Admiral Thrawn and a new series after this, I just don’t care anymore. It’s the reason why I am reading The High Republic novels and the Legends books because they are doing something more exciting and different. Anyway, let’s move away from my mini-tirade and onto dark tides.

The Plot

Taking place after the events of Vector Prime, the New Republic is facing a major crisis in the form of an extraterrestrial invasion conducted by religious-zealous Yuuzhan Vong. As the invasion continues in full swing, the New Republic government’s mistrust of the Jedi Order sworn to protect them is on the rise, and rogue elements of Luke Skywalker’s order are rebelling. The heroes of the Rebellion must come together to face the overwhelming onslaught.

It is a fairly standard continuation as it progresses how people are reacting to the invasion. More specifically, the New Republic government from Princess Leia’s perspective was one of deflecting the blame on the Jedi and to a certain extent trying to passively ignore the danger that is posing to the galaxy. However, as the series progresses having read up to Star By Star, it’s only going to get darker than it is right now.

Characters

The character arcs are pretty decent with Luke Skywalker’s story about trying to keep his Jedi Order under control while learning more about the Vong. In addition, Mara Jade Skywalker (formerly known as The Emperor’s Hand when she served the Empire, now the wife of Luke Skywalker) is suffering from an illness after her initial encounters with the Vong in the previous book. Han Solo, who is seen briefly in this book, is still heartbroken after the loss of Chewbacca in Vector Prime, and his sad story is going to continue into his series of books called Agents of Chaos. The Solo kids have gotten some good development as well like Anakin who is still disheartened by the loss of Chewie and dealing with his father Han having some resentment toward him for not saving his best friend.

Verdict

Dark Tide I: Onslaught is a decent book that continues to build upon the foundations established in Vector Prime and carries on to Dark Tide II: Ruin. I may not get to all the characters and certain plotlines, but I will have them in future reviews of this series so bear with me. In any case, It will be a little while before I get back to this series because I have to refresh my memories of what happened so far. Also, I’m unsure if I can finish this series since there are 19 of these books. I will finish this series someday though, that’s a given. At least the plot is different from the rest of Star Wars media these days. See you guys in the next review!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started