My thoughts on the 10 minute gameplay of The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom

After watching the trailer during the Nintendo Direct last month, The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom is already shaping up to be a great game this year. I thought to myself, “Okay, that’s all I need to see, and do not need to see anything else after that”. Turns out, it wasn’t enough, for Nintendo premiered a 10 min gameplay demonstration on what the game would look and feel like. And from the looks of it, it looks like it’s going to be the same yet different experience from Breath of the Wild (Mind you, I tried playing it but I just couldn’t get into it fully, but I still want to learn it and hopefully beat it one day).

Link’s new abilities in this game are pretty cool. Recall is an ability to send a floating platform back to its starting point which acts as an elevator to the new area of the game called the Sky Islands. Other abilities such as Ascend which is the power to swim through ceilings and Ultrahand can be used to craft movable objects such as a boat, a car, or a balloon. The best new ability I really enjoyed seeing was the fuse ability. This is where you get to fuse something simple like a branch or a pitchfork with a rock or another branch to make your weapons stronger. Another example is when you can fuse your arrows with different materials, such as a Keese eyeball, to make a homing arrow to shoot your targets instantly.

Whenever I finish Breath of the Wild (it may be a long while), I think I will enjoy this game a whole lot. I am particularly excited about the fusing ability because it is a step up from the previous game and makes it different. But I have to finish Ocarina of Time and Majora’s Mask though. And at some point I want to play the Xenoblade Chronicles games too. So, who knows when I will get to Tears of the Kingdom. Also, I will be writing my review of Metroid Prime: Remastered as soon as I finish the game. Until next time!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started